Ottawa, Ontario

About Us

The Parent Resource Centre

As a children’s charity, the Parent Resource Centre (PRC) is a leader in family support programs and comprehensive training for professionals. With a focus on child development, parent support, training and research, the PRC aims to have a lasting impact on the well-being of children. By using best-practices, we offer a holistic approach to support children, parents and caregivers, as well as front-line service providers who work with and nurture our children.

 

The PRC is committed to high quality, accessible programs, and provides relevant parenting information that makes a tangible difference in families’ lives. Our service area includes greater Ottawa and the surrounding counties.

 

With more than 40 years of service in the child and youth sector, the PRC is considered a destination for children, parents, caregivers and professionals.  

Our Vision

Communities where all children discover and develop skills to live the best life possible.

 

Our Mission

The Parent Resource Centre is a leader in holistic family support programs and comprehensive training for professionals in Ottawa and the surrounding counties. We offer....

  • Play-based learning for children
  • Support and education for parents and children to foster secure attachment
  • Resources, referrals and evidence-informed training for families and professionals.

Our Values

Child and family centered: we believe children, youth and families come first; parents and caregivers are the primary agents of change

 

Holistic: We provide a range of services related to enhancing the well-being of children; this includes a system of supportive, adaptable, and diverse services for children and youth, families, and volunteers.

 

Inclusive: We recognize and uphold the principle of equity, respecting uniqueness.

 

Leadership: We offer our professional opinion on matters affecting children and youth. We provide innovative opportunities for growth, and collaborate with others to maximize resources.

 

Dedicated: We are committed to meeting the changing needs of the children in our communities.

Background

In response to a community-based proposal from parents and educators of preschoolers in the Ottawa-Carleton region, the Parent Resource Centre (formerly known as the Parent Preschool Resource Centre) was set up as a demonstration project of the Ministry of National Health and Welfare (now Health Canada). Incorporated in 1976, the original aim was to provide a centralized location to store, share and distribute information about the needs of preschool children, aged birth to five. The Centre evolved as a community-wide resource for caregivers, parents and professionals involved with early childhood issues.

 

It soon became apparent that one of the most important aspects of the Centre's service was to provide a place for parents and caregivers to meet, to access resources and to connect with other adults while their preschoolers played. "Drop-In" hours were extended and the number of daytime workshops and opportunities for volunteering were increased to meet the needs of the community.

 

Outreach to caregivers and other community groups followed, and the past two decades have seen tremendous achievements throughout the wider community, particularly in supporting parents who, because of their social and economic circumstances, might not have access to the resources they need as they take on the challenging job of raising young children.


Funding

The PRC is funded primarily by the Ministry of Education, Ministry of Children and Youth Services, and the City of Ottawa. Additional funding for specialized programs and projects is provided by:

  • Fundraising
  • Donations
  • Service Clubs
  • Foundations

Structure

The Parent Resource Centre in an incorporated charitable non-profit organization with a volunteer Board of Directors. The Annual General Meeting is held in the Fall each year, and everyone is welcome. The Parent Resource Centre welcomes inquiries from members of the community who are interested in working as volunteers for the centre in a variety of ways, including membership on the Board of Directors.

Tip of the Day
Many toddlers go through a time where they are picky eaters. Don't pressure them to eat. Offer a variety of healthy foods in small quantities, and keep only healthy foods in the house.
© 2017 Ottawa Parent Resource Centre
Committed to every child's development
Home Page | Site map | Admin Login
Administrator Login
^ Back to Top

Ottawa, Ontario

Qui sommes nous

Centre de ressources pour parents

Comme organisme de bienfaisance pour les enfants, le Centre de ressources pour parents (CRP) est un chef de file en programmes de soutien à la famille et en formation complète pour les professionnels. Avec un accent visé sur l'apprentissage des jeunes enfants, le soutien aux parents, la formation, et la recherche, le CRP vise à avoir un impact durable sur le bien-être des enfants.  En utilisant des meilleures pratiques, nous offrons une approche holistique de soutien pour les enfants, leurs parents et responsables de garde, ainsi que pour les professionnels de première ligne qui travaillent avec et soutiennent nos enfants.

 

Le CRP est engagé à offrir des programmes accessibles de haute qualité et à fournir de l’information pertinente sur le rôle parentale qui fait une différence tangible dans la vie des familles. Nous desservons la région d’Ottawa ainsi que les comtés à l'est et à l'ouest de la ville.

 

Avec plus de 40 ans de service dans le secteur de l'enfance et de la jeunesse, le CRP est considéré comme la destination pour les enfants, les parents, les responsables de garde et les professionnels.

 

Notre vision

Des communautés où chaque enfant découvre et développe des compétences pour vivre la meilleure vie possible.

Notre mission

Le Centre de ressources pour parents est un chef de file en programmation de soutien familial holistiques et en formations complètes pour les professionnels d’Ottawa et les comtés entourant la ville. Nous offrons…

  • L’apprentissage par le jeu
  • Du soutien et de l'éducation pour les parents et les enfants favorisant l'attachement sécurisant
  • Des ressources, des renvois et de la formation basée sur les données probantes pour les familles et les professionnels.

 

Nos valeurs

Priorité accordée aux enfants et aux familles :nous croyons que les enfants, les jeunes et les familles viennent en premier; les parents et les responsables de garde sont les principaux agents de changement

 

Approche holistique : Nous offrons une gamme de services axés sur le bien-être des enfants; incluant un système de services de soutien adaptables et divers pour les enfants, les jeunes, les familles et les bénévoles.

 

Inclusion :Nous reconnaissons et soutenons le principe d'équité, tout en respectant l’unicité

 

“Leadership” :Nous partageons notre opinion professionnelle sur les questions touchant les enfants et les jeunes. Nous offrons des opportunités novatrices de croissance, et collaborons avec d'autres pour maximiser les ressources.

 

Dévoué :Nous sommes engagés à répondre aux besoins changeants des enfants dans nos communautés.

 

Context

En réponse à une proposition communautaire de parents et éducateurs d’enfants d'âge préscolaire dans la région d'Ottawa-Carleton, le Parent Resource Centre (anciennement connu sous le nom Parent Preschool Resource Centre) a été créé en tant que projet de démonstration du ministère de la Santé nationale et du Bien-être (maintenant Santé Canada). Incorporé en 1976, l'objectif initial était de fournir un emplacement centralisé pour maintenir, partager et diffuser de l'information sur les besoins d’enfants préscolaire, âgés de la naissance à cinq ans. Le Centre a évolué pour devenir une ressource à l'échelle communautaire pour les responsables de garde, les parents et les professionnels impliqués dans le domaine de la petite enfance.
 
Il est vite devenu évident que l'un des aspects les plus importants des services offert par le Centre était de fournir un lieu où les parents et les responsables de garde pouvait se rencontrer, accéder aux ressources et faire un lien avec d'autres adultes pendant que leurs enfants d'âge préscolaire jouait.  Les heures du "Drop-In" ont été étendues et le nombre d'ateliers offerts et d’opportunités pour faire du bénévolat ont été augmentés pour répondre aux besoins de la communauté.
 
Une campagne de sensibilisation envers les responsables de garde et autres groupes communautaires à suivi et durant les deux dernières décennies nous avons vu d'énormes réalisations dans la communauté, en particulier avec les parents vulnérables qui, en raison de leur situation sociale et économique, n’ont pas toujours accès aux ressources dont ils ont besoin dans la tâche difficile d'élever les jeunes enfants.

Financement

Le CRP est financé principalement par le Ministère des services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse, le ministère de l'Éducation et la Ville d'Ottawa. Des fonds supplémentaires pour les programmes et projets spécialisés proviennent de:

• Collecte de fonds
• Des dons
• Clubs de service
• Fondations

 

 

Structure

Le Centre de ressources pour parents est une organisation de bienfaisance à but non lucratif incorporée avec un conseil d'administration bénévole. L'assemblée générale annuelle a lieu à l'automne de chaque année, et tout le monde est la bienvenue. Le CRP accueille les demandes des membres de la communauté qui sont intéressés à travailler comme bénévoles pour le centre dans une variété de façons, y compris l'adhésion au conseil d'administration.

© 2017 Ottawa Parent Resource Centre
Engag? au d?veloppement de chaque enfant
Page d’accueil | Plan du site | Admin Login
Administrator Login
^ Back to Top